Day 79, Character

Practice: 3, Class performances: 1.  The fourth hour of practice that I could have done today was wasted sitting in my car, looking for parking.  Evidently Cal State Fullerton has accepted 100x as many driving students this year and so parking spots after 9am are scarce.  I don’t remember it being this bad last year.  Lesson learned.

I’ve been coasting on yesterday’s thought about abandoning the idea of playing something absolutely perfect.  I didn’t realize until after I made a conscious decision to leave it behind that it had been dominating my thoughts and the way I think of performing.  In class tonight Håkan talked about good practice habits and mentioned that when one practices slowly it’s important to exaggerate the character.  Because when the music is brought back up to tempo, the “space” available for drama is so much less (especially in fast music).  Great advice.

Leave a Reply

