Day 69, Life is short

Practice: 3 hours, Rehearsal: 3 hours, Concert: 2.5 hours.  Another double-booked day.  There was time to do the fourth hour, once again, but laziness in the guise of “need to save my concentration for tonight” prevailed.  As tonight was the last West Side Story show, I took many more musical risks than I usually do.  Almost all of them were an improvement on the way the music had been before.  It made me wish that I had taken these kinds of risks earlier on.  Life is short.  Take the risks.  I’ll have that chance tomorrow in the final concert of the 2011 Aspen Music Festival:  Mahler’s 2nd Symphony.  I’ll be on Eb clarinet.

Leave a Reply

